Every child deserves to be saved – Mayor Ahmed Aboutaleb


The Planet Hope Netherlands foundation consists of an Executive Committee, an Advisory Board and a Recommendation Committee

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee of Planet Hope Netherlands consists of volunteers. By contributing their time and talents they are fully committed to realise the objectives of the foundation.

Chairwoman: Karen Duys

After finalizing a study in public administration Karen Duys worked for several provincial and local governments. Currently she is senior policy advisor for the city of Roosendaal. From 2002 until 2010 she also was chairwoman of the Christian Democratic Party for the city of Rotterdam. Karen held several board functions in social organisations such as Sensoor, Hoedje van Papier, Resto VanHarte and ArosA.

Treasurer: Michiel ten Kate

Michiel ten Kate studeerde rechten en bedrijfseconomie. Na een carrière bij Philips Electronics, Healthcare en IT in diverse managementfuncties, startte hij zijn eigen bedrijf op het gebied van interim management en business consulting. In 2009 ondersteunde hij tijdens een ‘sabbatical leave’ projecten van Planet Hope in India.

Secretary: Patrick den Boggende

After graduating at the National School for Tourism Patrick den Boggende worked for various tourist agencies. He was among others account manager for a globally oriented travel agency and sales executive at an airline. During a sabbatical break he travelled around the world. Currently he combines his passion for travel and his expertise in the field of groups and incentives working for Diogenes Travels.

PR & Communication: Paul van Wijngaarden

After finishing his degree in Law, Paul van Wijngaarden made his work out of his specialty: text writing. After working for several communications companies in the public and private sector, he was editor in chief of the international accountancy- and consultancy organisation Deloitte. Now he works as communications consultant for the Netherlands Bar Association. Paul also writes pro bono for several non-profit organisations.

Rachida el Hadouchi

Rachida el Hadouchi finished an education in human resource management. After her studies she worked as staff member for the Christian Democratic Party in the city council of Rotterdam.


Recommendation Committee

The Recommendation Committee is comprised of prominent representatives from the field of government, business and social organisations. They support Planet Hope wholeheartedly with regards to its mission, vision and activities. Members of the committee are:

Ahmed Aboutaleb

Mayor of Rotterdam.

Hans Vervat

Maritime entrepreneur and former alderman Economy, Traffic and Transportation of Rotterdam

Peter Lamers

Chairman Executive Board Scholengroep Spinoza,

former General Director Rotterdam Association for Catholic Education, former alderman Youth, Family, Education and Sport of Rotterdam.

Prof. dr. Lucas Meijs

Professor ‘Strategic philanthropy’ & ‘Volunteering, civil society and businesses’, Rotterdam School of Management (Erasmus University) and member of the Council for Societal Development.

Eelco Koolhaas

Chief story officer Beleidstheater.

Ram Ramlal

Directeur stichting MEE Zuid-Holland Noord and former member of Dutch parliament.